Loading Events

« All Events

Writers & Illustrators of the Future Awards

April 3

Writers & Illustrators of the Future Awards

L. Ron Hubbard’s Writers of the Future Contest is an opportunity for new writers of science fiction and fantasy to have their work judged by some of the masters in the field and discovered by a wide audience.

No entry fee is required and entrants retain all publication rights.

Entries in the Writers of the Future Contest are adjudicated only by professional writers. Prizes of $1000, $750 and $500 are awarded every three months. From the four quarterly 1st Place winners each year, a panel of judges select one story as the grand prize winner. The writer of the grand-prize-winning story receives the L. Ron Hubbard Golden Pen Award and an additional $5000 cash prize.

Eric Flint will be a Writer Judge at this year’s Awards ceremony!

L. Ron Hubbard established the Writers of the Future Contest in 1983 to provide a means for aspiring young authors to gain a foothold in the field of speculative fiction. Mr. Hubbard’s estate provided for the contest to continue in perpetuity after his passing. It is judged by leading authors in the fields of science fiction and fantasy. First-, second- and third-place winners are announced quarterly, and the top stories are judged against each other for highest yearly honors. Winners are announced at our annual awards ceremony, where they receive trophies, certificates and cash awards. Of even greater import, all winning stories are published by Galaxy Press in the annual Writers of the Future Anthology.


April 3


Galaxy Press

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news and updates from Ring of Fire Press.

You have Successfully Subscribed!